Paul's Retirement

Get that man an umbrella drink!

Geeks out on CPLEX

By Tim Hopper

I wanted to talk about Paul’s persistent wit, but it has already been mentioned. He’s certainly one of the funniest guys in the Twitter/Operations Research community (all 12 of us).

I had the pleasure of meeting Paul at INFORMS in Charlotte. Despite his Spartan green wardrobe, I had a great time chatting with him about research, the internet, stochastic optimization, good beer, and collaboration. (Paul has hilarious stories about collaboration over his 100+ years in operations research.)

When I told a classmate that I had met up with Paul at INFORMS, he shared with me his options of Paul: “I really like his blog, because he just geeks out on CPLEX.” The highest praise an operations research blogger can receive, is it not? I’m told that Paul is the wizard of CPLEX forums. I don’t know first hand, because I avoid them like the plague.

I am personally grateful for some help and guidance Paul gave me on mixed integer programming methods for unsupervised learning. Little did I know, Paul was publishing papers on the topic when I was in kindergarten.

When I asked Paul his plan for retirement, he said, “Same as the old plan. Be lazy.” I think you’ve earned it, sir. Everyone wants you to continue blogging and tweeting, but I won’t object if you want to sit on the couch with beer and a remote control for the rest of your days.

Tim Hopper

One comment on “Geeks out on CPLEX

  1. prubin73
    May 16, 2012

    Tim: I can’t veg out on the couch with the remote just yet. There’s still the small matter of worming my way onto your thesis committee as an outside reader.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 15, 2012 by .
